About Us

Suffolk County Council came into being in April 1974. Elections to the new Council had already been held in April 1973, with the Conservatives winning overall control of the Council.

Following the May 2017 county council elections, the Conservative Group have overall control of Suffolk County Council. The full political make-up of the Council is:

  • Conservative: 50
  • Green: 3 
  • Independent: 5
  • Labour: 11
  • Liberal Democrat: 5
  • West Suffolk Independents: 1

The Leader of Suffolk County Council is Councillor Matthew Hicks, who is the Leader of the Suffolk County Council Conservative Group. The Deputy Leader of both the Council and the Suffolk County Council Conservative Group is Councillor Mary Evans. 

The Council holds an election of all Members every four years and the next election takes place in May 2021.