Michael Ladd - Kessingland and Southwold

I am married to Linda and we have two grown up children, and two granddaughters. Having lived and worked in Southwold all my life, I believe I have a strong sense of what people want from the place where they live, work and play.

I have been a Southwold Town Councillor since 1990, and a Waveney District Councillor since 2011. I became a County Councillor in 2013. As an experienced Councillor, I believe I can bring greater understanding of, and achieve better partnership working across, all the tiers of local government for the benefit of all the communities I represent.

I was elected Chairman of Suffolk County Council in May 2018 and have the privilege of representing the Council all around this fantastic county of ours. I previously served as Chair of the Health Scrutiny committee at Suffolk County Council. At Waveney District Council, I am the Cabinet Member for Tourism and Economic Development. I have been chairman of the Southwold Millennium Foundation since it was set up in 2000 and we completed the building of the new community hall in 2009. 

Some of the issues that are a priority for me are speeding in rural areas and road safety; the enforcement of parking restrictions; and controlled development of the built environment, so that it is in keeping with the existing street scene.

I can be contacted at Michael.Ladd@suffolk.gov.uk


See Also

Russ Rainger - Aldeburgh and Leiston

I moved to Suffolk in 2007, when Denise and I made Snape our home. I retired from a 30-year career in the nuclear power industry in 2014. My interest in local issues has been fuelled by my involvement with the Parish Council and, in 2017, I stood for a County Council position.

Mark Bee - Beccles

I was born and raised in Beccles, where I attended local schools. I was a student at Westminster College, Oxford, where I gained a degree in Theology and was elected President of the Student Union. It was from this that my interest in politics was established.

Christopher Hudson - Belstead Brook

It has been a great honour to serve and represent the people of Suffolk as a County Councillor since 2012. I also served as a District Councillor from 2011-2019. 

Paul West - Bixley

I am married to Katherine and have two stepchildren. Ipswich has always been our home and we run our small businesses here too. It is a great place to live as we are just an hour from London and have a vibrant waterfront area. I was elected at the County Councillor for the Bixley Division in a by-election in May 2016.

Joanna Spicer MBE DL - Blackbourn

I have been the Suffolk County Councillor for the Blackbourn Division for almost 30 years. I have worked in the public sector in Suffolk since 1972 and live in Pakenham with my husband Christopher.

Richard Smith MVO - Blything

I have been a County Councillor since 2010 and represent the Blything Division, which consists of the town of Saxmundham (where I live) and twelve villages to the north – Blythburgh, Bramfield, Darsham, Dunwich, Kelsale-cum-Carlton, Middleton, Theberton, Thorington, Walberswick, Wenhaston, Westleton and Yoxford.

Kay Oakes - Bosmere

I have lived in Needham Market since 1997. I was a Needham Market Town Councillor for fifteen years and I have served as Mayor of Needham Market and Chairman of the Town Council three times.

David Ritchie - Bungay

My wife and I live in St James South Elmham, one of the 25 rural parishes in the Bungay electoral Division.  We keep a few sheep and some chickens and are doing our best to restore and improve a timber-frame Suffolk long house. Rachel is the Church Warden and we both help with village events.

Mary Evans - Clare

I come from a farming family and grew up in Suffolk. I trained as a reporter on the East Anglian Daily Times, where I met my husband. Our careers took us to Westminster where I worked as a political correspondent.

Rachel Hood - Exning and Newmarket

I am a Cambridge University educated Barrister, a qualified Californian/USA Federal Court Attorney, and a married mother of four. My husband and I run a business in Newmarket, where I am a Town Councillor and the current Mayor, having been Mayor previously in 2014-15 and 2018-19.