Redrawing Suffolk’s division boundaries

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England is carrying out an electoral review of Suffolk County Council.

The aim of the electoral review is to recommend division boundaries that mean each Councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. The Boundary Commission also aims to ensure that the division boundaries reflect the interests and identities of local communities, and that the boundaries promote effective local government.

To achieve these aims, the Boundary Commission needs to re-draw the division boundaries across Suffolk.

As part of the initial stages of the review, the Boundary Commission consulted with Suffolk County Council on the most appropriate number of Councillors to be elected to the Council in future. The Commission is minded to recommend that 70 councillors should serve Suffolk County Council in the future. This is five fewer than the current number of councillors.

On 24 September, the Boundary Commission’s launched its consultation on division arrangements. The consultation called for opinions and comments (submissions) from the public on where they believe the division boundaries should be for Suffolk County Council. The consultation closed on 13 January 2020. The Suffolk County Council Conservative Group’s submission to the consultation can be found below.

The Boundary Commission will consult on their draft recommendations from 5 May to 13 July 2020. Their final recommendations will be published on 30 September 2020. The new division arrangements will come into force at the Suffolk County Council elections in May 2021.




Attachment Size
Suffolk County Council Conservative Group Division Arrangements Submission 5.07 MB